Make Sense of Your Weekend | The Graceful Wanderer

Make Sense of Your Weekend | 2/12

TGIF, y’all!

This week I’m starting a new series called, Sense of the Weekend. Check here every Friday for five tips to make sense of your weekend!

See: Love & Mercy. My mom and I watched this movie a few weeks back and totally fell for it. It’s a biographical film that gives viewers a glimpse into the life of Brian Wilson, a founding member of the Beach Boys. It’s a beautifully made movie that brings you the story from Brian’s perspective.

Hear: “Work This Body” by Walk the Moon. Much like most of the world, I’ve been working on bettering my fitness routine since the new year. I notoriously hate working out but I’ve finally found a form of exercise that’s been keeping me interested. When I need a little extra motivation to work up a sweat, I blast this song as a reminder to work hard to reach my goals! Favorite lyric: “Saw them roll their eyes at me every time that I thought that I was cool.”

Taste: Eight-Can Taco Soup. If you are looking for a recipe that is quick, easy, and will leave you with a ton of leftovers, stop right here. We made this one (from High Heels & Grills) for the first time this week and I can’t wait to make it again, DELICIOUS! The only changes we made were using ground chicken rather than canned chicken and only adding 3/4 of the taco seasoning packet. A great thing about it is that you can pair it with rice to make it chili for leftovers!

Touch: Yarn. Late last year I went on a total crocheting binge. I had just relearned how to crochet after years of sticking just to knitting and I was hooked! Sorry, bad pun. I made hats, scarves, cowls, and ear warmers galore! This pattern over on Hopeful Honey is one of the first I tried and I love that it can be a sturdy ear warmer if you use thicker yarn and a delicate headband if you use thin yarn. Once you get the hang of it, it’s easy and creates a beautiful design.

Smell: Firewood. I don’t know what the weather is like where you live but by me? Oh, just highs that don’t break above the teens. I probably won’t be venturing out too much this weekend. With temps so low, it’s the perfect time to build a fire in the fireplace and enjoy the smell and warmth while curled up on the couch!

Enjoy your weekend! And if you try any of these suggestions, let me know in the comments or on social media! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Make Sense of Your Weekend | 2/12

  1. This is great! I’ve been looking for things to do over the weekend during the winter months. I haven’t crocheted in over a year so I think I’ll start there.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

