An (Insta)nt in Time | Instagram |The Graceful Wanderer

An (Insta)nt in Time: Paris ’14 | Part One

It’s been two years since I started my study abroad experience in Paris (say what?!). A friend of mine is beginning her semester in Paris so I’ve been reminiscing like crazy. It’s got me stalking myself on social media! So, since I was already looking, I thought I’d share some of my Instagram snapshots of Paris with all of you!

I remember that first night we went to the Eiffel Tower like it was yesterday. It was a big group of us, we took the metro across the city and, in the middle of a conversation, I saw it. Just a flash of sparkle in between buildings, that was all I needed to gasp dramatically and cause several Parisians to give me concerned looks. I didn’t realize what a powerful effect seeing the Eiffel Tower in real life would have on me until I had tears welling up in my eyes.

 

No matter how many times it happened, I was always amazed when I’d walk past a famous, historical monument in the middle of a regular day.

 

The view from the top of the Printemps Haussmann store has to be one of my favorites of the city, especially at sunset. You’re able to see all of the major monuments (since you’re not standing on top of one), as well as watch all of the busy shoppers below.

 

 

There are so many beautiful parks all across the city, I was lucky to have a bustling one just across the street from where I lived. I tried hard to capture my experiences in my journal that a friend gave me before I left.

 

Sundays were made for sleeping in and then strolling along the Seine after a long breakfast, immediately followed by crepes. As soon as the cherry blossoms began blooming, the path along the Seine was filled with people, like me, soaking in the sun, and the view!

 

 

Having friends come to town means a week jam packed with all of the sights of Paris. When I wasn’t in class, we were stuffing our face with pastries, sipping wine and Angelina hot chocolate, fighting crowds at the Louvre, and climbing Eiffel Tower.

Mona Lisa was a bit anticlimactic, a tiny painting surrounded by a huge crowd, but I had to get a selfie with her, nonetheless.

 

After relaxing with our lunch at the bottom of the Eiffel Tower, we faced our fear of heights and followed the crowds to the top. I am telling you, that was the scariest elevator ride I have ever been on, but, oh man, those views.. They were one in a million!

 

 

After a busy day of sightseeing, we treated ourselves to some delicious, rich hot chocolate at Angelina’s. And I am telling you, that L’Afircain hot chocolate is the stuff dreams are made of!

 

I hope you enjoyed this peek at my time in Paris! I have a few more Instagrams to share, but that will have to wait until next time!

Have you ever been to Paris? If so, share your favorite snap of that time below!

 

What are your thoughts?

