An (Insta)nt in Time | Instagram |The Graceful Wanderer

An (Insta)nt in Time: March 2015

There’s definite truth in the saying that March comes in like a lion and out like a lamb. Well, at least weather wise because it seems that as we get closer to the end of the semester (and college!), the fuller my calendar becomes.

Snow still covered the ground at the start of the month and the wind outside only made me crawl further into my warm bed. The view from my room is something special so I couldn’t help peeking out every so often.

Peeking out on the world. 🌎

A post shared by Grace McMorrow (@gracekm928) on

Every year that I’ve been on campus for it, I’ve participated in my school’s annual 18-hour dance marathon. We raise money for a local children’s hospital and it’s only become more popular and amazing each year. This was my final HuskyTHON as a student which was super bittersweet, it was definitely the best one yet.

Resting up in the last moments before HuskyTHON begins! #FTK #HuskyTHON #UCONN

A post shared by Grace McMorrow (@gracekm928) on

The cold weather finally got to me this month and, with midterms piled on top, I was really itching to get down south for spring break. I eased some of my longing by looking through pictures from my last trip to the Big Easy three years earlier.

3 days. ☀️😎 #krupthrowback #nola

A post shared by Grace McMorrow (@gracekm928) on

After a h.o.t. twenty-six hour bus ride, it was a much needed treat to explore the beautiful city of New Orleans with my sweet friends. In shorts, nonetheless! I remembered places I had visited on the trip freshman year, and saw some new ones, but, overall, it was exciting to experience it all with different people!

If you love New Orleans, she'll love you back. #serveup15 #nola

A post shared by Grace McMorrow (@gracekm928) on

I couldn’t let St. Paddy’s Day pass without giving a nod to my heritage and the trip that made me fall in love with Guinness one year ago. Sláinte, to all!

After a few long days at the worksite, it was such a blast to get all dressed up and explore downtown New Orleans and the French Quarter. The night, which included jambalaya and an impromptu parade down Bourbon Street (among other things), couldn’t have been more perfect.

This trip was one that I won’t soon forget. While it may seem as if I was giving back to the community, this community, which has already given so much to the world, really gave back to me. The stories heard, relationships formed, and work completed have left me feeling empowered.

And so the “lasts” and the “goodbyes” begin, kicked off by my final sorority formal. I brought one of my best friends, a sister who graduated in December, and it was a fun night, a wonderful last formal. At times I feel ready, very ready to graduate and then one thought leads me to believing I’m maybe not so ready. Either way, there’s no stopping graduation, which is just over a month away.

Couldn't have asked for a better date to my last formal. #tequila 👯

A post shared by Grace McMorrow (@gracekm928) on

And now it’s April, which appears to be sticking to its motto, too. Y’know, “April showers bring May flowers.” I suppose there’s a reason for those sayings. This month is jam packed but I’m excited. It’s one I want to remember, I want to be present for, my last month of college! eek!

Image Map
What are your thoughts?

